Cheerful – By Request - An Edna Ferber Short Story Collection

With an Introduction by Rogers Dickinson
by Edna Ferber (Author)
Buy for $6.99 Excerpt

From the Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Edna Ferber, this collection of short stories features the tales of many brave, charming women who will stay with you long after you’ve set this volume down.

Set in Chicago in the early 1910s, these 12 short stories mostly feature everyday American women. Edna Ferber was a humorous, witty writer with excellent skill for capturing the small details of normal life. Her writing is sometimes sad and at other times comedic, but her stories are always memorable.

This volume features 12 short stories:

    - ‘Cheerful by Request’

    - ‘The Gay Old Dog’

    - ‘The Tough Guy’

    - ‘The Eldest’

    - ‘That's Marriage’

    - ‘The Woman Who Tried to Be Good’

    - ‘The Girl Who Went Right’

    - ‘The Hooker-Up-the-Back’

    - ‘The Guiding Miss Gowd’

    - ‘Sophy-As-She-Might-Have-Been’

    - ‘The Three of Them’

    - ‘Shore Leave’

First published in 1918, Cheerful - By Request is now in a brand new edition featuring an introductory excerpt by Rogers Dickinson. This insightful collection of short stories by Edna Ferber is not to be missed by collectors of the Algonquin Round Table writers’ work.

DRM Protected
Rogers Dickinson (Introduction author)
Publication date
September 26, 2022
Page count
File size
2 MB
The publisher has not provided information about accessibility.

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy