The Hermit and the Wild Woman

by Edith Wharton (Author)
Buy for $2.99 Excerpt

‘The Hermit and the Wild Woman' is a collection of short stories through which Wharton explores the themes of choice and morality. A surprising read, the stories feature a wide variety of central protagonists, including a lawyer’s wife, a struggling artist, a governor, and a monk living in cloisters. Shot through with wry humour, cultural criticism, and psychological observations, this book is perfect for fans of Wharton, who want to get to know the author a little better.



Edith Wharton (1862 – 1937) was an American designer and novelist. Born in an era when the highest ambition a woman could aspire to was a good marriage, Wharton went on to become one of America’s most celebrated authors. During her career, she wrote over 40 books, using her wealthy upbringing to bring authenticity and detail to stories about the upper classes. She moved to France in 1923, where she continued to write until her death.

Format
EPUB
Protection
Watermark
Publication date
June 21, 2022
Publisher
Page count
118
ISBN
9788728127322
subscribe

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy