The Deadliest Hurricanes Then and Now (The Deadliest #2, Scholastic Focus)

by Deborah Hopkinson (Author)
Buy for $17.99 Excerpt

Perfect for fans of I Survived and the Who Was series! Packed with graphics, photos, and facts for curious minds, this is a gripping look at America's deadliest hurricane.

As a hurricane gathered in the Caribbean, blue skies covered Galveston, Texas. Scientists knew a storm was coming. But none of them were able to prepare Galveston for the force of the hurricane that hit on September 8, 1900.

The water from the storm surge pulled houses off their foundations, and the winds toppled telephone poles and trees like toothpicks. And amid the chaos, Galveston's residents did all they could to rescue one another.

From the meteorologists tracking the storm, to the ordinary people who displayed extraordinary bravery... from the inequitable effects of the disaster, to the science of hurricanes and weather: Acclaimed Sibert Honor author Deborah Hopkinson brings voices from history to life in this fast-paced, wide-ranging narrative of the deadliest hurricane in American history. Filled with more than 50 period photographs and illustrations, charts, facts, and pull-out boxes for eager nonfiction readers.

Format
EPUB
Protection
Watermark
Publication date
January 04, 2022
Publisher
Collection
Page count
208
ISBN
9781338360189
Paper ISBN
9781338360172
File size
42 MB
subscribe

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy