(Fantasy and Horror Classics)
by Vernon Lee (Author)
Buy for $6.99 Excerpt

Violet Paget (1856–1935), also known under the pseudonym Vernon Lee, was a French-born British writer famous for her supernatural fiction and contributions to the field of aesthetics. She also wrote more than a dozen books on a variety of subjects ranging from music to travel, and today she is best remembered for her original ideas and amusing use of irony. Lee's most famous work, “Hauntings” (1890) is a fantastic collection of chilling ghost and supernatural stories, including “Amour Dure”, “Dionea”, “Oke of Okehurst”, and “A Wicked Voice”. Classic macabre tales not to be missed by fans of frightening fiction. Other notable works by this author include: “The Prince of the Hundred Soups: A Puppet Show in Narrative” (1883), “The Countess of Albany” (1884), and “Miss Brown” (1884). Fantasy and Horror Classics is proudly republishing this classic novel now in a new edition complete with an introductory biography by Daniel Lleufer Thomas.

DRM Protected
Publication date
September 08, 2020
Page count
File size
1 MB

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy