American Fairy Tales

American Fairy Tales

by L. Frank Baum (Author)

When "American Fairy Tales" first appeared, L. Frank Baum's reputation as a storyteller had already been established by "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz", written in 1900. The twelve stories in this collection were originally syndicated weekly in at least five newspapers during the first half of 1901. The first book edition, which this facsimile reprints, came out later that year. 

"American Fairy Tales" is a delightful collection of twelve stories set in America where, so it seems, modern fairies, knooks, and ryls are always causing the most astonishing things to happen! These tales will enchant both young and old.

The author of the much-loved Oz books transforms the familiar with his magical mix of humour and enchantment.


The Box of Robbers

The Glass Dog

The Queen of Quok

The Girl Who Owned a Bear

The Enchanted Types

The Laughing Hippopotamus

The Magic Bon Bons

The Capture of Father Time

The Wonderful Pump

The Dummy That Lived

The King of the Polar Bears

The Mandarin and the Butterfly

Book Details

Publication Date
September 12, 2020
File size
1.76 MB