H.G. Wells: Masterpieces

H.G. Wells: Masterpieces

The Invisible Man, The Time Machine, The War of the Worlds, The Food of the Gods... (Bauer Classics)
by H.G. Wells (Author), Bauer Books (Author)
Buy for €0.34 Excerpt

Prolific in many genres, he wrote dozens of novels, short stories, and works of social commentary, history, satire, biography and autobiography. His work also included two books on recreational war games. Wells is now best remembered for his science fiction novels and is often called the "father of science fiction".

During his own lifetime, however, he was most prominent as a forward-looking, even prophetic social critic who devoted his literary talents to the development of a progressive vision on a global scale. A futurist, he wrote a number of utopian works and foresaw the advent of aircraft, tanks, space travel, nuclear weapons, satellite television and something resembling the World Wide Web.[5] His science fiction imagined time travel, alien invasion, invisibility, and biological engineering. Brian Aldiss referred to Wells as the "Shakespeare of science fiction".

'H.G. Wells: Masterpieces' contains:


  • The Time Machine

  • The Island of Doctor Moreau

  • The Invisible Man

  • The War of the Worlds

  • When the Sleeper Awakes

  • The First Men in the Moon

  • The Food of the Gods

  • Days of the Comet

DRM Free
Publication date
July 20, 2020
File size
1.13 MB

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy