The Republic of Vengeance

by Paul Waters (Author)

A consuming story of love, loss, and redemption set in the classical world of Rome and Greece, The Republic of Vengeance is the story of a young man's pursuit of his father's murderer and of the values and qualities he develops that will make him a man-a man capable of a deep, noble, and enduring love. At the end of the third century B.C., as Republican Rome's long war with Carthage was at last drawing to a close, it was already threatened by a new enemy, Philip, the tyrant king of Macedon in the east. Into this turbulent world emerges our Roman hero, Marcus, whose father is brutally murdered by pirates on a journey from Italy to Corfu on a visit to his uncle. Fate takes him to some of the great cities of the Greco-Roman world at a time of major turbulence, where he learns much and finds love unexpectedly. This debut novel explores political and philosophical questions that are as timeless as democracy and tyranny, war and self-defense, right and duty, as well as questions of love, loyalty, and betrayal. In the tradition of Mary Renault, Steven Pressfield, and Robert Graves, The Republic of Vengeance is a remarkable, beautifully written work of love, loss, and redemption.

Book Details

Publication Date
July 25, 2011
Publisher
ISBN
9781468316506
Paper ISBN
9781590201428
File size
1 MB