Hard Mouth

by Amanda Goldblatt (Author)

  • Counterpoint is proud to publishing the debut novel by this brilliant 2018 National Endowment for the Arts Creative Fellow, Amanda Goldblatt
  • Written with the sheer wit and exuberance of Nell Zink and the hypnotic intensity of Ottessa Moshfegh, Hard Mouth is a novel with a wholly unforgettable narrator.
  • This is a book to be read breathlessly over a weekend, on the beach, by a book club; there are beautifully rendered characters and unresolved relationships; Hard Mouth has both commercial appeal and literary chops
  • Goldblatt began writing this novel in the fall of 2011, the year her own father was diagnosed with cancer. At the same time, both of her grandmothers were increasingly elderly and increasingly ill. She began the novel not for catharsis but for escape, creating action while her own life felt stultifyingly passive in light of the pending loss around her. As such, the novel is deeply rooted in the wild, unpredictable ways that grief appears and (mis)directs our lives.
  • Author is based in Chicago, IL and is a fervent independent bookstore patron and well-connected literary citizen
  • Perfect for fans of Rachel Khong, Miriam Toews, Miranda July or Edan Lepucki

  • Book Details

    Publication Date
    August 13, 2019
    Publisher
    ISBN
    9781640092433