The Eclogues

The Eclogues

de Virgil (Auteur)

"The Eclogues" is a remarkable achievement of Vergil’s late twenties and shows that the poet, even at this early age, intended to develop a style distinct from those of his Greek and Roman predecessors. The ten-poem collection falls into three major categories: Theocritean, non-Theocritean and the Daphnis poems.

Virgil invites the reader to bear witness to life in “Arcadia,” a place created by poetry, an idealized rural scene where people live in harmony with nature.

Fiche livre

Date de publication
26 mai 2019
Taille du fichier
1,52 Mo