The Eclogues

The Eclogues

by Virgil (Author)

"The Eclogues" is a remarkable achievement of Vergil’s late twenties and shows that the poet, even at this early age, intended to develop a style distinct from those of his Greek and Roman predecessors. The ten-poem collection falls into three major categories: Theocritean, non-Theocritean and the Daphnis poems.

Virgil invites the reader to bear witness to life in “Arcadia,” a place created by poetry, an idealized rural scene where people live in harmony with nature.

Book details

Publication date
May 26, 2019
File size
1.52 MB