Sowing the Seeds, Una Cosecha De Recuerdos

by Rosi Andrade (Author), Elena Diaz Bjorkquist (Author)

Sowing the Seeds is not only the name of this anthology, but it is also the name of a group of women writers in Tucson, Arizona. They are mostly Mexican American women who came together with an intense desire to write. This collection of stories, poems, and artwork is the result of two years of sharing their stories, the stories that until they met had been only in their hearts and minds. The works are a combination of fiction and nonfiction based on truth, the truth the women know about themselves, their lives and their culture.

In keeping with the theme of Sowing the Seeds, the book is divided into four sections, each named for a season of the year. The section entitled "Spring" begins the collection with stories and essays about the writers' mothers. It is followed by "Summer" which contains stories about their family and friends, real and imagined. "Autumn" stories and poems are written for children and young adults. In the "Winter" section, the women explore other forms of creativity besides poetry.

Book Details

Publication Date
July 29, 2002
Page count