Year's Best Weird Fiction

by Michael Blumlein (Author), Kristie DeMeester (Author), Jeffrey Ford (Author), John R. Fultz (Author), Richard Gavin (Author), Maria Dahvana Headley (Author), John Langan (Author), Livia Llewellyn (Author), Scott Nicolay (Author), W.H. Pugmire (Author), Joseph S. Pulver Sr. (Author), Chen Qiufan (Author), Anne-Sylvie Salzman (Author), Sofia Samatar (Author), Simon Stranzas (Author), Anna Taborska (Author), Jeffrey Thomas (Author), Karin Tidbeck (Author), Paul Tremblay (Author), Jeff Vandermeer (Author), Damien Angelica Walters (Author), A.C Wise (Author), Laird Barron (Editor), Michael Kelly (Editor)

Welcome to the weird! Acclaimed author and editor Laird Barron, one of weird fiction's brightest exponents, brings his expert eye and editorial sense to the inaugural volume of the Year's Best Weird Fiction. No longer the purview of esoteric readers, weird fiction is enjoying wide popularity. Chiefly derived from early 20th-century pulp fiction, its remit includes ghost stories, the strange and macabre, the supernatural, fantasy, myth, philosophical ontology, ambiguity, and a healthy helping of the outré. At its best, weird fiction is an intersecting of themes and ideas that explore and subvert the Laws of Nature. It is not confined to one genre, but is the most diverse and welcoming of all genres. Hence, in this initial showcase of weird fiction you will discover tales of horror, fantasy, science fiction, the supernatural, and the macabre. Contributing authors include Jeffrey Ford, Sofia Samatar, Joseph S. Pulver Sr, John Langan, Richard Gavin, and W. H. Pugmire.

Book Details

Publication Date
August 26, 2014