The Whole Beautiful World

The Whole Beautiful World

by Melissa Kuipers (Author)

Original, witty, and subtle, these stories feature characters who must navigate life in a small town, and will appeal to fans of Miriam Toews and Kathleen Winter.

This collection of beautifully crafted short stories features complex characters whose internal struggles manifest in their most intimate relationships, told by a writer with a compassionate eye.

A narrator watches her social sphere deteriorate after her boyfriend?s rough-housing leads to his best friend?s tragic paralysis. Childhood sweethearts, finally united later in life, find that they are not the soulmates they believed themselves to be. After her mother becomes depressed after a miscarriage, a daughter takes on the role of caregiver.

Set in fictional small rural towns, these stories explore young people who grow up against a religious backdrop, mothers who baulk against society?s imposed identities, and characters who explore their individual roles within their families as they navigate sexuality, suffering, and shame. These narrators are blunt and sometimes obsessive, but bravely optimistic as they strive to be the best versions of themselves.

As her characters struggle to discern deception from reality, using their limited resources to parse charm and charisma from credibility, Kuipers understated style is full of dark wit and detailed observation.

Book Details

Publication Date
October 09, 2017
Publisher
Page count
256
ISBN
9781927366639
Paper ISBN
9781927366622
File size
1 MB